San Jose Earthquakes vs Chivas USA
john Todd/SJ Earthquakes

Reserves: Quakes top Chivas USA 3-1

SAN JOSE, Calif. – The San Jose Earthquakes reserves allowed an early goal to the Chivas USA reserves, but responded with three goals in the second half to earn a 3-1 win in Reserve Division play at the Nutrilite Training Facility Saturday afternoon.
Chivas USA opened the scoring in the 20th minute with a goal from Mariano Trujillo. He picked up the ball inside the 18-yard box and blasted a shot past Andrew Weber for a 1-0 advantage.
The Quakes came out strong in the second half and quickly evened the score with a goal from Ryan Johnson. The goal came in the 50th minute.
Johnson helped create the go ahead goal just past the hour mark. He found Rafael Baca at the back post with a ball over the top. Baca moved into the open space and ripped a low cross that Chivas USA goalkeeper Kevin Guppy could not handle. Anthony Ampaipitakwong then tapped in the loose ball for a 2-1 Quakes lead.
Johnson appeared to put the Quakes ahead two goals, heading home a cross from Justin Morrow 75 minutes into the game. However, the linesman had his flag up and the goal was disallowed.
Yuri Morales finished the scoring with five minutes remaining after some more good work by Johnson. Jesus Padilla sent a ball to Johnson at the back post and the Jamaican forward then slid a ball into the goalmouth for Morales. He tapped the ball past Guppy to make the score 3-1.
San Jose Earthquakes (2-1-0) at Chivas USA (0-1-1)
April 23, 2011 – Buck Shaw Stadium
Attendance: 321
Scoring Summary: CHV - Mariano Trujillo (Victor Estupinan) 20; SJ – Ryan Johnson (unassisted) 50; SJ – Anthony Ampaipitakwong (unassisted) 62; SJ – Yuri Morales (Ryan Johnson, Jesus Padilla) 84.
Misconduct Summary: SJ – Steven Lenhart (caution) 24; SJ – Yousef Samy (caution) 33; SJ – Brad Ring (caution) 49; CHV – Gerson Mayen (caution) 49.
Chivas USA – Zach Thornton (Kevin Guppy 60), Mariano Trujillo (Chris Cortez 60), Michael Umana, Ryan De la Fuente (Chris Rodrigues 88), Francisco Mendoza, Gerson Mayen, Victor Estupinan, Kerry Baptiste (Artur Aghasyan 88), Eriq Zavaleta, Macaine Piercy, Ian Hines-Ike.
San Jose Earthquakes – Andrew Weber, Justin Morrow, Bobby Burling, Ike Opara, Yousef Smay, Anthony Ampaipitakwong (Yuri Morales 70), Brad Ring, David Frank, Ryan Johnson (Jimmy Callinan 89), Ellis McLoughlin (Travis Pillon 86), Stephen Lenhart (Rafael Baca 46) (Jesus Padilla 66).

Download the FREE MLS App

Follow San Jose's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.