Frank Yallop - 2012 Coach of the Year

Yallop named MLS Coach of the Year

Frank Yallop was named 2012 MLS Coach of the Year on Tuesday after guiding the Earthquakes to a franchise best record of 19-6-9 and the club's second Supporters' Shield.

The award is Yallop's second Coach of the Year honor after earning his first in his inaugural season with the Quakes in 2001 when he lead the club to its first MLS Cup.

Yallop orchestrated one of the best turnarounds in MLS history. The 2012 Quakes not only had the best record in MLS but also led the league in scoring with 72 goals, shattering the club's previous record of 55 set in 1997. A three-point attack spearheaded the Quakes' offense. Chris Wondolowski won the Budweiser Golden Boot award after netting 27 goals and tying the MLS single season goal-scoring mark. Alan Gordon netted 13 goals and seven assists and Steven Lenhart bagged an additional 10 goals. The Quakes were the first team since the LA Galaxy and Miami Fusion in 2001 to average more than two goals per game.

Under Yallop's tutelage, the Quakes also posted an 8-0-1 record against the three next-best teams in the Western Conference: Real Salt Lake, Seattle Sounders FC, and the LA Galaxy.

The 2012 Quakes were just two points away from tying the MLS single season points record of 68. In the process, Yallop groomed third-year defenders Steven Beitashour and Justin Morrow into defensive stalwarts. The two accompanied Chris Wondolowski in the MLS All-Star game.

The Canadian tactician has recorded 114 regular season wins during his coaching tenure, placing him fourth all-time in MLS history and tying him with his former assistant coach, Dominic Kinnear. During his 10-year career, Yallop has guided his team to the MLS Cup Playoffs five times. He also led the Quakes to the 2001 and 2003 MLS Cups.

The future looks bright for the 2013 Quakes as they set to pick up where they left off in 2012. Season tickets for 2013 are still available and can be found by clicking here.

MLS Coach of the Year Winners:
2012: Frank Yallop - San Jose Earthquakes

2011: Bruce Arena - LA Galaxy
2010: Schellas Hyndman - FC Dallas
2009: Bruce Arena - LA Galaxy
2008: Sigi Schmid - Columbus Crew
2007: Preki - Chivas USA
2006: Bob Bradley - Chivas USA
2005: Dominic Kinnear - San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Greg Andrulis - Columbus Crew
2003: Dave Sarachan - Chicago Fire
2002: Steve Nicol - New England Revolution
2001: Frank Yallop - San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Bob Gansler - Kansas City Wizards
1999: Sigi Schmid - Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Bob Bradley - Chicago Fire
1997: Bruce Arena - D.C. United
1996: Thomas Rongen - Tampa Bay Mutiny

Download the FREE MLS App

Follow San Jose's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.