Recap: Earthquakes win preseason finale, 2-1

PORTLAND, Ore. – The San Jose Earthquakes closed their preseason with a 2-1 win against FC Dallas in the Portland Preseason Tournament at JELD-WEN Field on Saturday.

The Earthquakes wrapped up the round-robin event with a 1-0-2 clip, including a 3-3 draw against the Portland Timbers and a scoreless tie against AIK (Sweden).

Chris Wondolowski put the Earthquakes on the board early. Veteran defender Jason Hernandez lofted a ball over the FC Dallas back line that caught Wondolowski on the run perfectly. The reigning Volkswagen MLS Most Valuable Player smartly used his body to shield off a defender and elude a charging goalkeeper before sliding to tap the ball into an open net.

FC Dallas leveled in the 26th minute as Jackson blasted a shot from the top of the box that deflected off Earthquakes defender Victor Bernardez and into the goal.

San Jose didn’t wait long in the second half to find the decisive goal. Mike Fucito tallied for the second time in the tournament to take the lead back the 49th minute. The offseason acquisition capitalized on a deflected cross, collecting and firing past FC Dallas goalkeeper Chris Seitz to give the Earthquakes a 2-1 advantage.

With the lead in hand, Earthquakes goalkeeper Jon Busch made one of the plays of the game with a penalty save in the 79th minute. Non-roster invitee John Bostock was whistled for a spot kick after making contact with FC Dallas forward Blas Perez in the box. Busch dove to his left to make the save on Perez and keep San Jose’s 2-1 lead intact.

The Earthquakes open their regular season against Real Salt Lake on Sunday, March 3 at Buck Shaw Stadium (7 p.m. PT / Comcast SportsNet California). The match will feature a Supporters’ Shield tribute, including a giveaway of 5,000 commemorative pennants courtesy of Visa.

San Jose Earthquakes 2:1 FC Dallas
JELD-WEN Field – Portland, Ore.
February 23, 2013 – Attendance:  N/A

Scoring Summary: SJ – Chris Wondolowski (Jason Hernandez) 15; DAL – Jackson (unassisted) 26; SJ – Mike Fucito (unassisted) 49; .

Misconduct Summary: None.

San Jose Earthquakes: Jon Busch, Dan Gargan, Victor Bernardez, Jason Hernandez, Justin Morrow, Shea Salinas (Cordell Cato 69), Rafael Baca (Brad Ring 69), Abu Tommy (Sam Garza 42), Ramiro Corrales (John Bostock 78), Chris Wondolowski, Mike Fucito (Adam Jahn 69).  

FC Dallas – Raul Fernandez (Chris Seitz 46), Michel (Jair Benitez 62), Matt Hedges, George John, Zach Loyd (London Woodberry 46), Andrew Jacobson (Bradley Baladez 62), Bobby Warshaw (Victor Ulloa 76), Jackson (Jonathan Top 77), David Ferreira, Fabian Castillo (Blas Perez 77), Kenny Cooper.

Download the FREE MLS App

Follow San Jose's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.