Earthquakes announce 2013 Club Award Winners, presented by Franco Uomo

SAN JOSE, Calif. – The San Jose Earthquakes announced their club award winners during a gala at The Fourth Street Summit Center in Downtown San Jose on Sunday, presented by Franco Uomo.

Midfielder Sam Cronin took home Most Valuable Player honors, his first time receiving the award during four seasons with the Earthquakes. Cronin was the only player on the roster to start each of San Jose’s 34 regular season games. He had two goals and four assists as a central midfielder. Both of his goals came at clutch moments, including a game-tying marker in the 91st minute against Montreal on May 4 and a game-winner against the Colorado Rapids on June 15.

Goalkeeper Jon Busch was named Defensive Player of the Year. He started 33 of 34 games in 2013, finishing with nine shutouts and 101 saves. He helped rally the club late in the season, yielding just one goal in seven starts during the final two months, including a 1-0 shutout win against CD Heredia to clinch San Jose’s advancement in CONCACAF Champions League. Busch won his 100th career MLS game on Aug. 18 against Sporting Kansas City and moved up to No. 4 on the league’s all-time shutout list.

Forward Chris Wondolowski took home the club’s Golden Boot for a fourth-consecutive season. He finished with 11 goals in 29 regular season games and tacked on two more during CONCACAF Champions League action. He also took home the CONCACAF Gold Cup Golden Boot after tying for the tournament lead with five goals.

Finally, Justin Morrow was named the club’s Humanitarian of the Year for his continued efforts toward connecting with the community. Morrow was a regular contributor to the Earthquakes’ Kicks for Kids program and participated in a locally-based program to encourage children to read.

The club’s MVP, Defensive Player of the Year and Humanitarian of the Year awards were voted on by players, media and the technical staff. Five awards – Game of the Year, Best Goal Celebration, Goal of the Year, Defensive Play of the Year and People’s Choice – were voted on by fans.

2013 Earthquakes Award Winners, Presented by Franco Uomo:

Game of the Year: Earthquakes vs. LA Galaxy at Stanford Stadium on June 29
Best Goal Celebration: Steven Lenhart vs. Sporting Kansas City on Aug. 18
Community Partner of the Year: Wells Fargo Goals for Education
Goal of the Year: Alan Gordon vs. LA Galaxy at Stanford Stadium on June 29
Defensive Play of the Year: Jon Busch vs. Seattle Sounders FC on March 23
People’s Choice Award: Shea Salinas
Fan of the Year: The McAllister Family
Golden Boot: Chris Wondolowski
Defensive Player of the Year: Jon Busch
Humanitarian of the Year: Justin Morrow
Earthquakes MVP: Sam Cronin

Download the FREE MLS App

Follow San Jose's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.