2016Schedule_Release

Earthquakes Announce 2016 Regular Season Schedule

SAN JOSE, Calif. – The San Jose Earthquakes unveiled their 2016 regular season schedule Thursday morning, which includes 16 matches at Avaya Stadium and a return to Stanford Stadium for the California Clasico against the LA Galaxy on Saturday, June 25. 

The 2016 slate features 10 nationally televised games, five of which will be played at Avaya Stadium and one at Stanford Stadium, on networks including FOX Sports 1, UniMas and ESPN.

Among the marquee games is a showdown with New York City FC on Friday, Aug. 5 (8:00 p.m./UniMas), as the Earthquakes host international superstars Frank Lampard, Andrea Pirlo and David Villa at Avaya Stadium for the first time. Other notable home matches include a battle with the defending MLS Cup champion Portland Timbers on Sunday, March 13 (4:00 p.m./FS1) and the visit of the star-studded cast of Toronto FC, which features the reigning MLS MVP Sebastian Giovinco and U.S. captain Michael Bradley, on Saturday, July 16 (7:30 p.m.).

The Earthquakes will also continue their tradition of playing the California Clasico at Stanford Stadium when they host the LA Galaxy on Saturday, June 25 (7:00 p.m./UniMas). The 2016 version of the Clasico will mark the sixth-consecutive season the club has played at Stanford Stadium. The last four have drawn sold-out crowds of more than 50,000, including a record 50,422 in 2015. The match will feature a themed halftime show as well as a fireworks extravaganza following the final whistle.

The Earthquakes will open their schedule with consecutive home games against the Colorado Rapids on Sunday, March 6 (12:00 p.m.) and the Portland Timbers on Sunday, March 13 (4:00 p.m./FS1), before making a trip down to LA to take on the rival Galaxy on Saturday, March 19 (7:30 p.m.). San Jose will have a home-heavy schedule at the beginning (five of first eight) and end (six of last 11) of the season, while hitting the road for six of nine games between Weeks 9-17.

The schedule features five Wednesday night contests, including three at Avaya Stadium, in order to avoid matches during FIFA international breaks – March 18-31, June 8-16 and Aug. 31-Sept. 8.

Earthquakes season ticket holders will have an exclusive pre-sale window beginning at 10 a.m. on Tuesday, Jan. 19 to purchase additional tickets to all games at Avaya Stadium. All fans currently on the season ticket holder waitlist can purchase tickets for Avaya Stadium matches beginning at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, Jan. 20. Groups of 10 or more will have the next opportunity to purchase tickets beginning at 10 a.m. on Thursday, Jan. 21, followed by the public on-sale on Friday, Jan. 22 at 10 a.m. Tickets will be available at www.sjearthquakes.com, www.ticketmaster.com, by calling 1-800-745-3000 or visiting select Ticketmaster locations around the Bay Area. Groups of 10 or more can call the club’s Front Office at 408-556-7700. Tickets can also be purchased at the Avaya Stadium Box Office.

Tickets for the California Clasico at Stanford Stadium will be available to Earthquakes season ticket holders during a pre-sale on Tuesday, Jan. 26. The next day, waitlisted season ticket holders can purchase tickets to the match, followed by groups of 10 or more on Thursday, Jan. 28. The public on-sale for the rivalry match begins on Friday, Jan. 29. Tickets for the California Clasico can be purchased at www.sjearthquakes.com, www.ticketmaster.com, by calling 1-800-745-3000 or by visiting select Ticketmaster locations around the Bay Area or Avaya Stadium Box Office. Groups of 10 or more can call the club’s Front Office at 408-556-7700.

Note: A full local broadcast schedule will be available at a later date. Additionally, not all game times have been announced.

Date Opponent Time TV
Sunday, March 6 COLORADO RAPIDS 12:00 p.m.  
Sunday, March 13 PORTLAND TIMBERS 4:00 p.m. FS1
Saturday, March 19 at LA Galaxy 7:30 p.m.  
Saturday, April 2 D.C. UNITED 7:30 p.m.  
Saturday, April 9 at FC Dallas 6:00 p.m.  
Wednesday, April 13 NEW YORK RED BULLS     7:30 p.m.  
Saturday, April 16 at Portland Timbers 7:30 p.m.  
Sunday, April 24 SPORTING KANSAS CITY 12:30 p.m. ESPN
Saturday, April 30 at Philadelphia Union TBD  
Saturday, May 7 at Seattle Sounders FC 7:00 p.m.  
Wednesday, May 11 HOUSTON DYNAMO 7:30 p.m.  
Sunday, May 22 at LA Galaxy 4:00 p.m. FS1    
Saturday, May 28 FC DALLAS 7:30 p.m.  
Wednesday, June 1 at Portland Timbers 7:30 p.m.  
Saturday, June 18 at Orlando City SC 4:30 p.m.  
Saturday, June 25 *LA GALAXY 7:00 p.m. UniMas
Friday, July 1 at Chicago Fire 5:00 p.m. Unimas
Friday, July 8 FC DALLAS 7:30 p.m. Unimas
Saturday, July 16 TORONTO FC     7:30 p.m.  
Friday, July 22 at Real Salt Lake 8:00 p.m. UniMas
Sunday, July 31     at Houston Dynamo     TBD  
Friday, August 5 NEW YORK CITY FC 8:00 p.m. UniMas
Friday, August 12 at Vancouver Whitecaps FC 8:00 p.m. UniMas
Friday, August 19     HOUSTON DYNAMO     8:00 p.m. UniMas
Wednesday, August 24 NEW ENGLAND REVOLUTION 7:30 p.m.  
Saturday, August 27 at Columbus Crew SC 4:30 p.m.  
Saturday, September 10     SEATTLE SOUNDERS FC 7:30 p.m.  
Saturday, September 17 at Colorado Rapids 6:00 p.m.  
Saturday, September 24 SPORTING KANSAS CITY 7:30 p.m.  
Wednesday, September 28 at Montreal Impact TBD  
Saturday, October 1 REAL SALT LAKE 7:30 p.m.  
Thursday, October 13 at Colorado Rapids 6:00 p.m.  
Sunday, October 16 VANCOUVER WHITECAPS FC 4:00 p.m.  
Sunday, October 23     at Sporting Kansas City 1:00 p.m.  

 

 

Topics: 

Download the FREE MLS App

Follow San Jose's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.