COLLEGE CUP: The field for the 2019 NCAA Women's Soccer Championship is set

The field of 64 teams, which will compete for the 38th NCAA Division I Soccer Championship, was announced this afternoon by the NCAA Division I Women's Soccer Committee. 

In the opening round, Prairie View A&M, the automatic qualifier from the Southwestern Athletic Conference, will face Stanford. North Carolina will host Belmont from the Ohio Valley Conference. Florida State will host South Alabama from the Sun Belt Conference, and Virginia will host Radford, the automatic qualifier from the Big South Conference.

CHAMPIONSHIP INFO: View the 2019 bracket | Buy tickets | Broadcast schedule | Selection show

Thirty-one conferences were granted automatic bids for the 2019 championship, while the remaining 33 teams were selected at-large. The top 16 teams are seeded and conference teams cannot play each other in the first or second rounds. When pairing teams, the committee follows geographic proximity parameters. The top 16 teams will host, and all other sites were selected for the first round to create the least number of flights.

The four No. 1 seeds include Stanford, the automatic qualifier out of the Pac-12 Conference, and North Carolina, the automatic qualifier from the Atlantic Coast Conference. Florida State and Virginia also earned No. 1 seeds.

Additionally, the No. 2 seeds include UCLA, South Carolina, Southern California and BYU. Followed by Arkansas, Kansas, Oklahoma State and Wisconsin earning the No. 3 seed. Lastly, Penn State, Rutgers, Texas Tech and Washington each earned a No. 4 seed completing the top 16-seeded teams.

The Atlantic Coast Conference led all conferences with nine teams in the tournament. The Pac-12 followed with eight teams, and the Big 12 Conference will have seven representatives in this year's tournament.

FALL CHAMPIONSHIPS: Full fall selection show schedule | Future championship sites

All preliminary-round competition will take place at campus sites. First-round games will be played Nov. 15, 16 and 17. Second- and third-round games will be played Friday, Nov. 22 and Sunday, Nov. 24, and Quarterfinal games will be played Nov. 29 or 30.

The 38th annual NCAA Women's College Cup will be played Dec. 6 and 8 at Avaya Stadium, with the Quakes, San Jose Sports Authority and West Coast Conference serving as co-hosts. The first national semifinal will be played and broadcast live on ESPNU at 4 p.m. PT Friday, Dec. 6, followed by the second semifinal beginning at approximately 6:30 p.m. PT live on ESPNU. The national championship match will take place at 5:30 p.m. PT time Sunday, Dec. 8 and will also broadcast live on ESPNU.

Download the FREE MLS App

Follow San Jose's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.