The Andrew Bedard "Spirit of the Game" Award

Every year, the Earthquakes will honor a player who best exemplifies community service with the Andrew Bedard Memorial Spirit of the Game Award. 

The award is named for Andrew Bedard, a young Earthquakes fan who passed away at age 8 in 2004 and who was a fan of former Earthquakes goalkeeper Pat Onstad. Andrew was one of those happy children who loved to attend Quakes games and get autographs from his favorite players. Upon his sudden and tragic passing, Onstad and several other players, including Craig Waibel and Jeff Agoos, stepped up to support Andrew’s family. 

Andrew’s favorite position was in goal, much like his favorite player. Even though he was a very young, he seemed to understand the position and kept his heart up during a trying season. During fall 2003, he was on a team that never won a game, yet he worked very hard to keep the other teams from scoring. After a tough game, his dad asked him how he felt. Andrew’s reply was, “I feel great! It doesn’t matter what the score is. If you have a great attitude, you are a winner.” 

Andrew embodied the true “Sprit of the Game” with his attitude. It is this attribute of soccer, which extends beyond the competition on the pitch that we want to recognize in the “Spirit of the Game” award bestowed by the fans in Andrew’s name. 

From 2008 to 2014, the Bedard Award was presented at the SSVCF Annual Dinner. SSVCF, Andrew’s family and the Quakes have agreed that the Andrew Bedard Spirit of the Game Award will be administered by the Quakes Foundation beginning in 2015. Andrew's plaque is now on display in Avaya Stadium near the player tunnel, which features all past recipients.

2017 Tommy Thompson
2016 Shea Salinas
2015 Shea Salinas
2014 J.J. Koval
2013 Jon Busch
2012 Steven Beitashour
2011 Chris Wondolowski
2010 Jason Hernandez
2009 Shea Salinas
2008 Joe Cannon