called up

SAN JOSE, Calif. – San Jose Earthquakes forward Cade Cowell and defender Casey Walls have been called to the United States U-20 National Team for Revelations Cup 2021 in Celaya, Mexico. The four-team round-robin tournament will feature the United States, Mexico, Brazil and Colombia. San Jose is one of just five MLS teams to send multiple players to the U-20 tournament.

Cowell, 18, is in his third season with the Quakes and has tallied six goals and six assists in 49 career appearances. So far in 2021, Cowell has recorded five goals and five assists in 32 appearances (14 starts) and earned a selection to the 2021 MLS All-Star Team.

Cowell has previously represented the U.S. at the U-16, U-17 and U-23 levels.

Walls, 18, is in his second season with San Jose and has yet to make an MLS appearance. Walls spent the entire 2021 season on loan with Austin Bold FC of the USL Championship where he made six starts in 15 total appearances.

A native of London, England, Walls has previously represented the U.S. at the U-14, U-15, U-16 and U-17 levels.

San Jose is well represented in the U.S. National Team system. In addition to Cowell and Walls joining the U-20s, four Quakes Academy players were recently called to the U-17s for a training camp in Chula Vista, Calif.


All matches broadcast on TUDN

Wednesday, Nov. 10 – USA vs. Brazil - 3 p.m. PT

Saturday, Nov. 13 – USA vs. Colombia - 1:30 p.m. PT
Tuesday, Nov. 16 – USA vs. Mexico - 3 p.m. PT



Alexander Borto (Fulham/ENG.; South Plainfield, N.J.), Gabriel Slonina (Chicago Fire FC.; Addison, Ill.)

DEFENDERS (7): Justin Che (FC Dallas; Richardson, Texas), Jacob Greene (D.C. United; Crofton, Md.), Kobi Henry (Orange County SC; Lake Forest, Calif.), Jalen Neal (LA Galaxy; Lakewood, Calif.), Kayden Pierre (Sporting Kansas City; Bloomfield Hills, Mich.), Casey Walls (Mill Valley, Calif.; San Jose Earthquakes), Caleb Wiley (Atlanta United F.C.; Atlanta, Ga.)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Paxten Aaronson (Philadelphia Union; Medford, N.J.), Caden Clark (New York Red Bulls; Wayzata, Minn.), Daniel Edelman (New York Red Bulls; Warren, N.J.), Jeremy Garay (D.C. United; Crofton, Md.), Daniel Leyva (Seattle Sounders FC Las Vegas, Nev.), Diego Luna (El Paso Locomotive; Redwood, Calif.), Jack McGlynn (Philadelphia Union; Middle Village, N.Y.), Rokas Pukstas (Hajduk Split/CRO; Stillwater, Okla.)

FORWARDS (6): Cade Cowell (San Jose Earthquakes; Ceres, Calif.), Brian Gutierrez (Chicago Fire FC; Chicago, Ill.), Missael Rodriguez (Chicago Fire FC; Chicago, Ill.), Malick Sanogo (1. FC Union Berlin/GER; Berlin, Germany), Dante Sealy (PSV Eindhoven/NED; Frisco, Texas), Quinn Sullivan (Philadelphia Union; Philadelphia, Pa.)