NEWS: Earthquakes announce roster moves ahead of 2022 MLS Season

Roster Moves 1920x1080

SAN JOSE, Calif. – The San Jose Earthquakes today announced their roster moves ahead of the 2022 MLS season.

The following 10 players hold guaranteed contracts for the 2022 season: goalkeeper Emi Ochoa, defenders Nathan, Tommy Thompson and Casey Walls, midfielders George Asomani, Cristian Espinoza, Gilbert Fuentes and Jackson Yueill, and forwards Cade Cowell and Jeremy Ebobisse.

The club has exercised 2022 contract options on nine players: goalkeeper JT Marcinkowski, defenders Tanner Beason and Marcos Lopez, midfielders Siad Haji, Judson, Eric Remedi, Shea Salinas and Jack Skahan, and forward Benji Kikanovic. Additionally, the Quakes have extended the loan for midfielder Chofis from Mexico’s Chivas de Guadalajara through June 2022.

The Earthquakes will not exercise 2022 contract options on seven players: defenders Luciano Abecasis, Jacob Akanyirige and Paul Marie, midfielders Eric Calvillo and Carlos Fierro, and forwards Andy Rios and Thomas Williamson.

The following three players are out of contract following the 2021 season: goalkeepers Matt Bersano and Daniel Vega, and forward Chris Wondolowski. Wondolowski previously announced his retirement at the conclusion of the 2021 season.

Defender Oswaldo Alanis completed his two-year loan with San Jose and will return to Chivas de Guadalajara.

For select players who are either out of contract or had their options declined, conversations about returning to the Earthquakes in 2022 are still ongoing.

“I’m privileged to have worked with such an incredible group of guys in 2021,” said Earthquakes General Manager Chris Leitch. “Unfortunately, we missed our goal of reaching the postseason and have to make the tough decisions in order to have this team poised for a playoff run in 2022. I want to say thank you to all of our departing players and wish them the best of luck in their respective careers.”

The San Jose Earthquakes current roster heading into 2022, listed alphabetically by position, is below:

Goalkeepers (2): JT Marcinkowski (HG), Emi Ochoa (HG)

Defenders (5): Tanner Beason, Marcos Lopez, Nathan, Tommy Thompson (HG), Casey Walls (HG)

Midfielders (10): George Asomani, Chofis, Cristian Espinoza, Gilbert Fuentes (HG), Siad Haji, Judson, Eric Remedi, Shea Salinas, Jack Skahan, Jackson Yueill

Forwards (3): Cade Cowell (HG), Jeremy Ebobisse, Benji Kikanovic

Transaction: San Jose Earthquakes (MLS) – The Earthquakes will exercise 2022 contract options on GK JT Marcinkowski, D Tanner Beason, D Marcos Lopez, M Siad Haji, M Judson, M Eric Remedi, M Jack Skahan, M Shea Salinas, and F Benji Kikanovic. The Earthquakes will not exercise 2022 contract options on D Luciano Abecasis, D Jacob Akanyirige, D Paul Marie, M Eric Calvillo, M Carlos Fierro, F Andy Rios, and F Thomas Williamson.