DS web 16-9

SAN JOSE, Calif. – At halftime of Sunday’s regular season finale, the San Jose Earthquakes will honor 10 members of the club’s family with Devotion Scarves, an honor bestowed upon only the most devoted Earthquakes fans, staff, alumni or community members. The Quakes presented Devotion Scarves for the first time in 2015, and they are now awarded annually at the final home game of the regular season. The 10 recipients of a 2021 Devotion Scarf are included below with descriptions of their commitments to the club. 

Adrienne Arranaga-Bellot – Adrienne Arranaga-Bellot is a born and raised San Jose native whose mission is to give back to her community. With 26 years of banking under her belt, she has shared the message of financial health to those of all ages. Adrienne, along with CEFCU, has been a strong supporter of Pledge 74 and the Quakes to help those in need whether it was school supplies, food or clothing. 

Sean Boyles – Sean Boyles has been an Earthquakes fan since the 1990’s while the team was still playing as the Clash. A local artist and owner of the Arsenal Art Store, Sean has worked on several major art projects for the club, most notably the new “2001 Champions” mural unveiled in October.

Gordon Lew and Wendy Louie – Gordon Lew and Wendy Louie have been with the Quakes since 2008 as blue crew volunteers. The husband-and-wife team have continued being an integral part of the guest experience, assisting with everything and anything customer service oriented on game days since PayPal Park opened in 2015.

Char McCaskey – Char McCaskey and the West Valley men’s soccer team have been longstanding supporters of the Quakes Foundation and its programs, helping the club launch and execute partnerships with organizations like the United Farm Workers, UFW Foundation and more.

Sean Mearns – Sean Mearns has worked for the San Jose Earthquakes in a full-time capacity since August of 2012, beginning as Team Administrator, Coordinator and rising to his current title of Manager of Team Administration. In his role, Mearns oversees road trips, including flights and accommodations for the team, as well as other responsibilities such as pursuing U.S. Green Cards for international players, overseeing the daily operations of the team, and planning out preseasons. In 2020, Mearns orchestrated the largest road trip in team history, with the club remaining in a bubble in Orlando for 40 days to compete in the MLS is Back Tournament.

Juan Meza – Juan Meza been a Quakes Season Ticket Holder and Group Leader since the 2015 season. As the commissioner of Willow Glen P.A.L Soccer, Juan annually rallies hundreds of recreational youth soccer players and families to Quakes games to help grow the love of the club and sport.

Will Pineda – Will Pineda has been a Quakes Season Ticket Holder and Group Leader since the 2014 season. His San Jose restaurant, Maya’s Café, has consistently brought delight to the players and front office of the Quakes and has been an impactful community hub, most recently regarding relief efforts for Honduras after 2020’s Hurricane Eta.

Ewell Sterner – Ewell Sterner founded Hunger at Home in 2008 in San Diego and reactivated the nonprofit in 2015 after moving to San Jose. Since the onset of the COVID-19 Pandemic, Hunger at Home has supported the local community in tremendous ways. From sustainably repurposing food from PayPal Park and other facilities, to serving millions of pounds of food to our most vulnerable neighbors, Hunger at Home has continued their mantra of ‘people helping people’ through regular food distributions at PayPal Park.

Tony Swan – Tony Swan joined the Quakes after the team’s return in 2008 during the Buck Shaw Stadium era. Since then, he has been a staple in the control room on game days as the club’s lead audio technician and DJ. Operating the soundboard on game days, Tony is a rock in the control room and a huge part of the team’s in-stadium presentation.

Cheryl van Dijk – Cheryl van Dijk has been a season ticket holder with the Quakes since the opening of PayPal Park and an avid supporter of the Quakes Foundation. Since the onset of COVID-19, Cheryl has been a Pledge 74 MVP, working almost 100 hours of volunteer service.

For a Q&A with each 2021 Devotion Scarf recipient, click here.

Previous Devotion Scarf Recipients:

2020: Gabrielle Antulovich, Charlie Bedard and Karlina Ott, Lars Frederiksen, Dr. Richard Gayle and Dr. Daniel Ouyang, Eric Hanninen, Regina Keydeniers, Derek Lawrance, Sabrina-Mone Lamontagne, Hal and Ted Ramey, Dave Romero, and Miggie Trevino.

2019: Juan Alcaraz, Almaden, Carlos Chang, Crystal Cuadra, Anastasio Garcia, Bang Huynh, Jerri Johnson, Scott Schlotfeldt, Beatriz Torres, and Ned Zuparko.

2018: Dorene Bolanos, Terry Cotting-Mogan, Curtis Hisao, Jacquie & Jeff Hofmann, Colin McCarthy, Kevin Moore, Raul Peralez, Cezar Popovici, Joe Santos Sr., Susan Silveira, John Wondolowski.

2017: Raul Bueno, Debbie Freeman, Brian Holmes, Betty Jean Schweitzer, John Jussen, Darryl Kojima, Amanda Farina-Morris, Jeff Ota, Easy Perez, Mike Pizzo and John Todd.

2016: Dan Burkhead, Olly Bayliss, Ted Firestone, Krazy George Henderson, Dan Ignacio, Bryan Jarvis, Jerry and Bernie Larkin, Mayor Sam Liccardo and Eric Santiago.

2015: Mark and Patty Biagini, Marlee and Glenn Castleman, Shaun Del Grande, Julie Di Maria, Dr.  Michael Furlong, Jose Fuentes, Don Gagliardi, Jeff Kordes, Dan Margarit, Dave McAllister, Carol Haner, Shelley McCune, Jesse Mendes, Dave Obenour, Anthony Perry, Carlos Cesar Rivera, Brenda Scott, Alan Wolfe and Ken Yeager.