NEWS: Earthquakes to Honor Most Dedicated Members of the Quakes Family with Devotion Scarves


SAN JOSE, Calif. – At halftime of Saturday’s final home match of the season, the San Jose Earthquakes will honor 10 members of the club’s family with Devotion Scarves, an honor bestowed upon only the most devoted Earthquakes fans, staff, alumni or community members. The Quakes presented Devotion Scarves for the first time in 2015, and they are now awarded annually at the final home game of the regular season. The 10 recipients of a 2022 Devotion Scarf are included below with descriptions of their commitments to the club.

Meghan Doe Almeida – Meghan Doe Almeida has been supporting the San Jose Earthquakes since the 1980s. She remembers playing in San Jose PAL (Police Activities League) soccer at 7-8 years of age and being invited to play in a scrimmage before a Quakes match at Spartan Stadium, sparking a lasting love for the team that continues on to this day.

Erika Diaz – Erika Diaz is the Community and Marketing Director for Telemundo 48. Over her nine-year tenure with the station, Diaz has played an influential role in the expansion of the Earthquakes brand on the network’s channel across the Bay Area. She has helped coordinate Quakes match broadcasts on Telemundo 48 and oversee grassroots marketing and community initiatives in benefit of the club. Her dedication and passion for the Quakes dates back to the team’s era at Spartan Stadium and she continues to support the club with her husband.

Ivan and Noel Garcia – Ivan and Noel Garcia are twin brothers that have supported the club since the days of the San Jose Clash. They have even traveled to support the team on the road, including the dramatic 3-3 draw vs. Austin FC earlier this year. The brothers have worked with Fanatics for many years and can often be seen at the team store at PayPal Park.

Tony Huston – Tony Huston has been a Quakes fan since 1976 and is a founding member and current President of Soccer Silicon Valley. Soccer Silicon Valley in a nonprofit organization that has played an important role with the club in Northern California over the years, including their successful efforts of bringing the team back to San Jose in 2008. Their efforts continue to influence the growth of the team both on and off the field.

Danny Keydeniers – Danny Keydeniers, current Guest Experience Lead with the Earthquakes, has been a pillar of consistency and excellence in customer service for the club since 2009. Keydeniers started with the organization as a volunteer in the 2009 MLS season and has worked almost every single Quakes match since PayPal Park’s opening in 2015. His loyalty to the club, fans and staff alike has been vital and he stops at nothing to help create memorable experiences for everyone he interacts with at Earthquakes games.

PAMA Portuguese Media – PAMA Portuguese Media is a Portuguese radio station with roots that go all the way back to 2008. Nelson Leite, Anderson Terra, and Michael Rocha have spearheaded the coverage of the San Jose Earthquakes, including live broadcasts at home matches. The trio travel to PayPal Park from Turlock, Calif., driving 100 miles each way. The group has also been involved in producing social media content for the club with its Portuguese-speaking players, including Judson and Nathan.

Sean O’Keafe – Sean O’Keafe has been a longtime Quakes Season Ticket Holder and supporter dating back to the early 2000s. O’Keafe has attended Quakes matches since the team played at Spartan Stadium, Buck Shaw Stadium, and now at PayPal Park. Through thick and thin, he has stood alongside the team as a devoted fan and often participates in exclusive Season Ticket Holder events.

Danny Sanchez – Danny Sanchez is the founder and leader of City Peace Project, an organization in San Jose that focuses on providing education and mentorship for low-income, high-risk students, including those at risk with gangs and school violence and generational poverty. Sanchez and the organization are making a lasting impact on the San Jose community and their connection with the Quakes has grown tremendously throughout this season, giving the kids of City Peace Project opportunities to attend Quakes matches and get involved in other special club events.

Maryela Ramirez – Maryela Ramirez is a founding member of the Epicentro 74, which has now joined forces with The Faultline to create the Quakes supporters group known as Seismic Union. After initially following the Earthquakes in 2018, Ramirez quickly became a close supporter, leading to the creation of Epicentro 74. She now attends every home match alongside her family, friends, and other supporters that want to be a part of Seismic Union.

Mark Raney – Mark Raney began his relationship with the Quakes organization as a Season Ticket Holder in 2011, before working in the front office for the next 10 years. He was hired as a full-time Inside Sales representative in 2012, and later rising to Director, Group Sales. During his time with the club, Raney helped grow the club on the sales floor, expanding their group sales department outreach and launching Quakes group heritage night programs. His efforts left a lasting impact on a number of external stakeholders, from youth teams to diverse heritage communities.

Joe Washington – Joe Washington, Senior Coordinating Producer with NBC Sports, has 23 years of experience with the network. He started working with the Quakes in 2006, helping the team create a broadcast infrastructure at Buck Shaw Stadium and later at PayPal Park. He has worn many hats over the years as a primary advocate and operational liaison between the network and the club for its telecasts. He also organized and planned many group outings for Dublin United Soccer League where he served on the board for a decade.

To read a Q&A with each 2022 Devotion Scarf recipient, click here.

Previous Devotion Scarf Recipients:

2021: Adrienne Arranaga-Bellot, Sean Boyles, Gordon Lew and Wendy Louie, Char McCaskey, Sean Mearns, Juan Meza, Will Pineda, Ewell Sterner, Tony Swan, and Cheryl van Dijk.

2020: Gabrielle Antulovich, Charlie Bedard and Karlina Ott, Lars Frederiksen, Dr. Richard Gayle and Dr. Daniel Ouyang, Eric Hanninen, Regina Keydeniers, Derek Lawrance, Sabrina-Mone Lamontagne, Hal and Ted Ramey, Dave Romero, and Miggie Trevino.

2019: Juan Alcaraz, Almaden, Carlos Chang, Crystal Cuadra, Anastasio Garcia, Bang Huynh, Jerri Johnson, Scott Schlotfeldt, Beatriz Torres, and Ned Zuparko.

2018: Dorene Bolanos, Terry Cotting-Mogan, Curtis Hisao, Jacquie & Jeff Hofmann, Colin McCarthy, Kevin Moore, Raul Peralez, Cezar Popovici, Joe Santos Sr., Susan Silveira, John Wondolowski.

2017: Raul Bueno, Debbie Freeman, Brian Holmes, Betty Jean Schweitzer, John Jussen, Darryl Kojima, Amanda Farina-Morris, Jeff Ota, Easy Perez, Mike Pizzo and John Todd.

2016: Dan Burkhead, Olly Bayliss, Ted Firestone, Krazy George Henderson, Dan Ignacio, Bryan Jarvis, Jerry and Bernie Larkin, Mayor Sam Liccardo and Eric Santiago.

2015: Mark and Patty Biagini, Marlee and Glenn Castleman, Shaun Del Grande, Julie Di Maria, Dr. Michael Furlong, Jose Fuentes, Don Gagliardi, Jeff Kordes, Dan Margarit, Dave McAllister, Carol Haner, Shelley McCune, Jesse Mendes, Dave Obenour, Anthony Perry, Carlos Cesar Rivera, Brenda Scott, Alan Wolfe and Ken Yeager.