NEWS: JT Marcinkowski named to U-20 MNT roster for final camp of the year in Costa Rica

JT Marcinkowski - Georgetown - Goalkeeper - USA - 2016

Former Earthquakes Academy goalkeeper JT Marcinkowski is among 20 players called by U.S. Under-20 Men's National Team head coach Tab Ramos for the team’s international camp, set to take place from Dec. 13-20, in San Jose, Costa Rica. During the camp, the U-20 MNT will play two friendlies against the U-20 Costa Rica team at their national training center on Dec. 17 and 19.

The camp will aid in preparation for the 2017 CONCACAF U-20 Championship, which will be held at the Estadio Nacional de Costa Rica in San Jose and the Estadio Ricardo Saprissa in Tibas from Feb. 17 – March 5. The CONCACAF Championship serves as the qualifying tournament for the 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup in South Korea.

“This will be a great opportunity for our players to get acclimated to Costa Rica and get a sense of what they can expect in February.” Ramos said. “The chance to play Costa Rica twice will be a good test for our guys to see where they stand against the host nation, who is playing at a very high level.”

Out of the 20 players on the roster, 17 played in the U.S. Soccer Development Academy. Of those 17, JT Marcinkowski has the most years in the DA, playing five seasons with the San Jose Earthquakes Academy.

This will be the U-20 MNT’s third camp in 2016 and the first competitive match since October’s Four Nations Tournament, where the U.S. had the opportunity to face U-20 sides from Germany, Netherlands and England.

Roster by Position:

GOALKEEPERS (2): Jonathan Klinsmann (University of California; Newport Beach, CA), JT Marcinkowski (Georgetown; Alamo, CA)

DEFENDERS (7): Marcello Borges (Michigan; Kearny, NJ), Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake; Tucson, AZ), Aaron Hererra (New Mexico; Casa Grande, AZ), Jake Morris (Seattle Sounders FC; Fort Lauderdale, FL), Tommy Redding (Orlando City SC; Oviedo, FL), Miles Robinson (Syracuse; Arlington, MA), Auston Trusty (Philadelphia Union; Chester, PA)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Danny Acosta (Real Salt Lake; Salt Lake City, UT), Tyler Adams (New York Red Bulls II; Wappingers Falls, NY), Derrick Jones (Philadelphia Union; Chester, PA), Sebastian Saucedo (Real Salt Lake; Park City, UT), Nick Taitague (FC Richmond; Midlothian, VA), Eryk Williamson (Maryland; Alexandria, VA)

FORWARDS (5): Jeremy Ebobisse (Charleston Battery; Bethesda, MD), Jonathan Lewis (Akron; Plantation, FL), Victor Mansaray (Seattle Sounders FC; Des Moines, WA), Emmanuel Sabbi (UD Las Palmas; Libertyville, IL), Brandon Vazquez (Atlanta United FC; Chula Vista, CA)