JT Marcinkowski

NEWS: Monteiro, Marcinkowski Selected to MLS Team of the Week

team of the week jt

SAN JOSE, Calif. – San Jose Earthquakes midfielder Jamiro Monteiro and goalkeeper JT Marcinkowski have been selected to Major League Soccer’s Team of the Week for Week 20 following the Earthquakes’ 3-2 road victory against the LA Galaxy on Wednesday.

The Earthquakes jumped out to an early lead when Cristian Espinoza converted a penalty kick in the 13th minute. Moments after the ensuing kickoff, Jeremy Ebobisse doubled the team’s advantage with a right-footed shot from inside the 18-yard box. San Jose then pushed their lead to 3-0 in the 40th minute when Marcos Lopez played a give-and-go with Benji Kikanović, eluded goalkeeper Jonathan Bond, and scored from a narrow angle along the touchline. The LA Galaxy began their comeback attempt with a goal by Dejan Joveljic just minutes into the second half before Joveljic added a second in the 88th minute.

Monteiro was influential in the Quakes’ win, playing all 90 minutes and tallying an assist on Ebobisse’s goal. He now has seven assists this season and is two assists away from his career-high in 2019 (9). Monteiro has tallied three goals and seven assists in his last 11 appearances.

Marcinkowski, Major League Soccer’s saves leader (76), faced a season-high 10 shots on target and made a season-high eight saves in the victory.

Wednesday’s win sees the Quakes earn their first road victory of the season and improve to 5-3-4 in MLS play under interim head coach Alex Covelo. The victory also sees San Jose earn back-to-back road wins over the LA Galaxy for the first time in the storied rivalry.

The MLS Team of the Week selections are Monteiro’s second and Marcinkowski’s third of the season. The Earthquakes have now had a total of 15 TOTW recognitions so far this year.


Forwards: Ronaldo Cisneros (ATL), Cucho Hernandez (CLB), Jhon Duran (CHI)

Midfielders: Randall Leal (NSH), Jamiro Monteiro (SJ), Ryan Gauld (VAN), Diego Fagundez (ATX)

Defenders: Kai Wagner (PHI), Maxime Chanot (NYC), Nicolas Isimat-Mirin (SKC)

Goalkeeper: Pedro Gallese (ORL)

Coach: Gonzalo Pineda (ATL)

Bench: JT Marcinkowski (SJ), Ruben Gabrielsen (ATX), Cristian Dajome (VAN), Johnny Russell (SKC), Hany Mukhtar (NSH), Brenner (CIN), Dejan Joveljic (LA)