WATCH: The 25 Greatest | Jeff Agoos

SAN JOSE, Calif. –  As part of the continued celebration of its 25th season, Major League Soccer today announced The 25 Greatest presented by AT&T – honoring the 25 brightest stars in league history. Four of the 25 players selected competed for the San Jose Earthquakes during their career: Jeff Agoos (2001-04), Dwayne De Rosario (2001-05), Landon Donovan (2001-04), and Chris Wondolowski (2005; 2009-Present). Additionally, Steve Ralston was an assistant coach for San Jose from 2015-18, while also serving as interim head coach for the final six matches in 2018.

Jeff Agoos
D.C. United: 1996-2000; San Jose Earthquakes: 2001-2004; MetroStars: 2005

A three-time honoree in the MLS Best XI and a member of the MLS All-Time Best XI (2005). Winner of the MLS Defender of the Year award in 2001. Five-time winner of MLS Cup, second-most in league history. Also won the Supporters’ Shield (twice), U.S. Open Cup, CONCACAF Champions Cup, and Copa Interamericana. A 9-time MLS All-Star selection.

Dwayne De Rosario
San Jose Earthquakes: 2001-2005; Houston Dynamo: 2006-2008; Toronto FC: 2009-2011; New York Red Bulls: 2011; D.C. United: 2011-2013; Toronto FC: 2014

A six-time member of the MLS Best XI, winner of the MLS Most Valuable Player award in 2011. Won the MLS Golden Boot in 2011. Scored 104 league goals, ninth-most all-time. A four-time winner of MLS Cup, twice was named MLS Cup MVP (2001, 2007). Also won the Supporters’ Shield and U.S. Open Cup. A 7-time MLS All-Star selection.

Landon Donovan

San Jose Earthquakes: 2001-2004; LA Galaxy: 2005-2014, 2016

Second all-time with 145 goals, all-time leader with 136 assists. All-time leader in postseason goals (25) and assists (15). Named seven times to MLS Best XI (most ever) and member of MLS All-Time Best XI in 2005. Winner of the 2009 MLS Most Valuable Player; won 2008 MLS Golden Boot. Six-time winner of MLS Cup (most of any player) and two-time MLS Cup MVP, twice winner of the Supporters’ Shield, and one U.S. Open Cup championship. A 14-time MLS All-Star selection, most of any player in league history.

Chris Wondolowski
San Jose Earthquakes: 2005; Houston Dynamo: 2006-2009; San Jose Earthquakes: 2009-present

The league’s all-time leading goal scorer with 166 goals. Tied for the then single season goal-scoring record with 27 goals in 2012. Winner of the MLS Most Valuable Player award in 2012. Twice won the MLS Golden Boot (2010, 2012). Named to MLS Best XI on three occasions. Two-time MLS Cup champion. A 5-time MLS All-Star selection.

A special panel of nearly 200 MLS experts from across North America was brought together to select the 25 players who achieved the most on the field, drove the narrative off the field, and helped lay the foundation and set the course for MLS’s next 25 years.

Major League Soccer nominated 137 of the most decorated and impactful players in league history. The nomination committee looked for players who accomplished one or more of the following as an MLS player:

  • Received multiple league-wide individual honors such as: Best XI, Most Valuable Player, Golden Boot, Defender/Goalkeeper of the Year, All-Star selections
  • Won major team trophies such as: MLS Cup, Supporters’ Shield, U.S. Open Cup, international club competitions
  • Made extraordinary off-field contributions or impact
  • Ranked among the all-time leaders in key statistical areas

The 25 Greatest presented by AT&T is as follows, in alphabetical order. Given that their achievements vary by type, position, era and circumstance, The 25 Greatest will not be ranked. They are all equally worthy of this prestigious honor.

  • Jeff Agoos
  • Kyle Beckerman
  • David Beckham
  • Carlos Bocanegra
  • Dwayne De Rosario
  • Clint Dempsey
  • Landon Donovan
  • Marco Etcheverry
  • Robin Fraser
  • Sebastian Giovinco
  • Kevin Hartman
  • Cobi Jones
  • Robbie Keane
  • Chad Marshall
  • Josef Martinez
  • Tony Meola
  • Jaime Moreno
  • Eddie Pope
  • Preki
  • Steve Ralston
  • Nick Rimando
  • Carlos Valderrama
  • Diego Valeri
  • Chris Wondolowski
  • Bradley Wright-Phillips