Sam Cronin and Chris Wondolowski called to USMNT January Camp

Cronin, Wondolowski called to USMNT Camp

SAN JOSE, Calif. – The San Jose Earthquakes announced today that two players have been named to the roster pool for the United States national team for the January training camp. 2010 Budweiser Golden Boot winner Chris Wondolowski and midfielder Sam Cronin will head to Los Angeles for head coach Bob Bradley’s first training camp of the year.

The camp begins on Jan. 4 in Southern California and continues through the Saturday, Jan. 22 friendly against Chile at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. The game kicks off at 6 p.m. PT.

“We are very happy to have these players get an opportunity with the national team,” said Earthquakes general manager of soccer operations John Doyle. “The call-ups are a reward for their standout 2010 seasons. Both Chris and Sam were a key part of our return to the playoffs.”

The 2010 season was a breakout campaign for Wondolowski, as he helped lead the Earthquakes to the MLS Cup Playoffs for the first time since 2005. The Danville native scored a single-season franchise record 18 goals and brought home the league’s scoring title. Wondolowski finished third in the Major League Soccer MVP race, appearing in 28 matches and scoring a league-leading nine game-winning goals. He also accounted for 52.9 percent (18 of 34) of the team’s goal output, which is second in MLS history only to Carlos Ruiz’s 2002 season with the LA Galaxy. Since arriving in San Jose, the former Chico State striker has scored 21 goals in just 42 regular season appearances, which has him tied for fifth with Eric Wynalda on the all-time scoring list for the franchise.

Cronin joined the Earthquakes via a trade with Toronto FC on June 21 and helped solidify central midfield for San Jose as the team made a run to the MLS Cup Playoffs. The second overall pick in the 2009 MLS SuperDraft appeared in 17 games for the Quakes and made 16 starts. The former Wake Forest standout is no stranger to the US national team, as he appeared twice for the U.S. at the 2009 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

GOALKEEPERS (4): Dominic Cervi (Celtic), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Matt Pickens (Colorado Rapids), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (9): A.J. DeLaGarza (Los Angeles Galaxy), Sean Franklin (Los Angeles Galaxy), Omar Gonzalez (Los Angeles Galaxy), Ugo Ihemelu (FC Dallas), Zach Loyd (FC Dallas), Ryan Miller (Halmstads BK), Tim Ream (New York Red Bulls), Anthony Wallace (Colorado Rapids), Marvell Wynne (Colorado Rapids)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Eric Alexander (FC Dallas), Alejandro Bedoya (Örebro), Sam Cronin (San Jose Earthquakes), Mikkel Diskerud (Stabaek), Jeff Larentowicz (Colorado Rapids), Dax McCarty (D.C. United), Brek Shea (FC Dallas)

FORWARDS (4): Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls), Justin Braun (Chivas USA), Teal Bunbury (Sporting Kansas City), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Download the FREE MLS App

Follow San Jose's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.