Frank Yallop
Getty Images

Yallop earns prestigious honor from Canadian Soccer Association

Earthquakes head coach Frank Yallop was honored by the Canadian Soccer Association this week by being selected to the country's "Best XI in 50 Year" team for 1963-2012.

Yallop spent almost 20 years playing in England and in the U.S. as a defender. He signed his first professional contract at the age of 16 with Ipswich Town FC in England, and in 1992, helped the club win the English First Division. Yallop was twice named the team’s MVP, and scored game-winning goals in back-to-back games in 1993 to lead Ipswich to Premiership victories over Tottenham Hotspur and legendary side Manchester United.

Yallop also played in MLS as a top defender for the Tampa Bay Mutiny from 1996-98, where he earned the Mutiny’s Defender of the Year award in 1997 and 1998. In 1996, Yallop helped the Mutiny to a league-best regular-season record of 20-12, and in 1998, he scored the only goal of his MLS career. Yallop has a United States Soccer Federation “A” coaching license and an FA Preliminary Badge.

"We are pleased to announce this accomplished group of footballers from our country's first 100 years," said Canadian Soccer Association President Victor Montagliani. "The Canadian Soccer Association wishes to thank The Soccer Hall of Fame for its continued role in honouring the history of the beautiful game in our country and for their support of our Centennial celebrations through the selection of these two "Best XI in 50 years.""

The "Best in 50 Years: 1912-1962" features players from the first 50 years of the Association's history, with contributions by notable soccer historian Colin Jose. The "Best in 50 Years: 1963-2012" features players from the most recent 50 years in Canadian football, as selected by The Soccer Hall of Fame.

The Canadian Soccer Association celebrates its 100th anniversary throughout the 2012 calendar year. While soccer (football) has been played in Canada since 1876, the Canadian Soccer Association (or the Dominion of Canada Football Association as it was known in the day) was inaugurated on 24 May 1912. As part of the centennial celebrations, the Canadian Soccer Association will unveil the "Top-10 Moments" in Canadian soccer history as well as engage soccer fans to select the "All-Time Canada XI" teams for men's and women's football. The celebrations will culminate with Canada's Centennial Match on 3 June at BMO Field.

The Soccer Hall of Fame and Museum helps preserve and display the history of soccer in Canada. From 2000 to 2011, it has honoured 75 players, 48 builders and five pioneers, as well as nine Teams of Distinction and two Organizations of Distinction. Its 2012 Induction Banquet is scheduled for 2 June in Toronto, with tickets available for purchase

The Soccer Hall of Fame's Best XI in 50 Years: 1912-1962 

Goalkeeper - Joe Kennaway
Right back - Geordie Campbell
Left back - Jack Cowan
Right half - Fred Dierden
Centre half - Trevor Harvey
Left half - Dickie Stobbart
Outside right - Errol Crossan
Inside right - Gogie Stewart
Centre forward - Doug McMahon
Inside left - Dave Turner
Outside left - Norman McLeod

The Soccer Hall of Fame's Best XI in 50 Years: 1963-2012

Goalkeeper - Craig Forrest
Right back - Frank Yallop
Centre back - Robert Iarusci
Centre back - Randy Samuel
Left back - Bruce Wilson
Midfielder - Nick Dasovic
Midfielder - Mike Sweeney
Midfielder - Les Wilson
Midfielder - Colin Miller
Forward - Alex Bunbury
Forward - Tomasz Radzinski

Download the FREE MLS App

Follow San Jose's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.