alan gordon gold cup

Gordon joins USMNT ahead of CONCACAF Gold Cup Quarterfinal

San Jose Earthquakes forward Alan Gordon was added to the United States’ CONCACAF Gold Cup roster on Wednesday ahead of a quarterfinal match against El Salvador.

Gordon replaced Club Tijuana striker Herculez Gomez. He joins Earthquakes teammates Chris Wondolowski and Clarence Goodson as the United States takes on El Salvador on Sunday, July 21 at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore, Md. (1 p.m. PT / FOX, Univision).

A 10-year MLS veteran, Gordon made his United States debut on Oct. 12, 2012 in a CONCACAF World Cup Qualifier against Antigua and Barbuda. Gordon came off the bench and picked up a game-winning assist on Eddie Johnson’s 90th-minute goal. That appearance is his only cap with the national team.

Gordon is the third-leading scorer for San Jose in 2013 with three goals and two assists. He broke through in 2012 with a career-high 13 goals and seven assists, helping the Earthquakes to the club’s third Supporters’ Shield trophy.

The U.S. Men's National Team cruised through Group C play with an unblemished 3-0-0 record. Wondolowski scored five goals during the process while he and Goodson drew starts against Belize and Costa Rica. Should the United States get past El Salvador on Sunday, they would face the winner of Honduras vs. Costa Rica in a semifinal on Wednesday, July 24 at Cowboys Stadium in Dallas, Texas.

In addition to Gordon, three others were added to the United States’ roster. That list includes: Eddie Johnson, Omar Gonzalez and Matt Besler. Departing camp along with Gomez are: Corey Ashe, Jack McInerney, and Oguchi Onyewu.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (8): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Tony Beltran (Real Salt Lake), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Edgar Castillo (Club Tijuana), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Michael Orozco Fiscal (Puebla), Michael Parkhurst (FC Augsburg)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Helsinborg), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Joshua Gatt (Molde FK), Stuart Holden (Bolton), Jose Torres (Tigres)

FORWARDS (5): Will Bruin (Houston Dynamo), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Alan Gordon (San Jose Earthquakes), Eddie Johnson (Seattle Sounders FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Download the FREE MLS App

Follow San Jose's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.