Quakes announce protected players for 2014 MLS Expansion Draft

SAN JOSE, Calif. – The San Jose Earthquakes announced their list of 11 protected players ahead of Wednesday’s MLS Expansion Draft. Each of the protected players will not be available when New York City FC and Orlando City SC make their selections.

San Jose’s list includes:

GK David Bingham
D Victor Bernardez
D Clarence Goodson
D Jordan Stewart
D Shaun Francis
M Sam Cronin
M Shea Salinas
M JJ Koval
M/F Matias Perez Garcia
F Steven Lenhart
F Chris Wondolowski

In addition to that list of players, forward Tommy Thompson is automatically protected because of his status as a Homegrown Player on the club’s supplemental roster.

Through the Expansion Priority Draft, Orlando City earned the first selection in the Expansion Draft. New York City FC and Orlando City SC will each select 10 players, but MLS clubs can lose no more than two players. Once a player has been claimed from a club’s non-protected roster, that club may move a player from its non-protected roster to its protected roster. For a full rundown of the rules, click here.

The MLS Expansion Draft will take place at 11 a.m. PT on Wednesday, Dec. 10. The event will be livestreamed at

Download the FREE MLS App

Follow San Jose's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.