Chris Wondolowski - USA - 2017

NEWS: Forward Chris Wondolowski Named to Preliminary 40-Man Roster for 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup

SAN JOSE, Calif. – San Jose Earthquakes forward Chris Wondolowski was among 40 players named to the United States’ preliminary roster for the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup by head coach Bruce Arena. Tournament rules require the final 23-player roster to be turned in to CONCACAF no later than June 27. All players on the final list must come from the preliminary roster.

Wondolowski, 34, has scored 11 goals in 35 appearances for the U.S. National Team. One of Major League Soccer’s most prolific strikers, Wondolowski has scored 127 career goals, fourth most in league history. He is one of just six players in MLS with at least six goals and five assists thus far in 2017.

The U.S. will begin Gold Cup training camp June 25 in Nashville, Tenn., before traveling to East Hartford, Conn., for a warm-up game against Ghana on July 1 at Pratt & Whitney Stadium (TICKETS). The MNT then returns to Nashville for its tournament opener against Panama on July 8 at Nissan Stadium (TICKETS), before venturing to Tampa’s Raymond James Stadium for a July 12 clash with Martinique (TICKETS). The USA closes group play on July 15 against Nicaragua at FirstEnergy Stadium in Cleveland, Ohio (TICKETS).

GOALKEEPERS (6): Joe Bendik (Orlando City SC), Jesse Gonzalez (FC Dallas), Brad Guzan (Atlanta United FC), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids), Sean Johnson (New York City FC)

DEFENDERS (12): Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Greg Garza (Atlanta United FC), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca/MEX), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Eric Lichaj (Nottingham Forest/ENG), Matt Miazga (Chelsea/ENG), Justin Morrow (Toronto FC/CAN), Matt Polster (Chicago Fire), Jonathan Spector (Orlando City SC), Jorge Villafaña (Santos Laguna/MEX), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS (15): Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana/MEX), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC/CAN), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana/MEX), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Tommy McNamara (New York City FC), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Chris Pontius (Philadelphia Union), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC), Kelyn Rowe (New England Revolution), Kenny Saief (Gent/BEL), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

FORWARDS (7): Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC/CAN), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Dom Dwyer (Sporting Kansas City), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), C.J. Sapong (Philadelphia Union), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)


Download the FREE MLS App

Follow San Jose's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.