24 Under 24 - 2017

24 UNDER 24: Three Quakes listed on MLS shortlist

Every season, Major League Soccer rates the league’s top 24 players under 24 years of age. The stars (or budding stars) are determined by a panel of top soccer media members and MLSsoccer.com editorial staff. For more information and the list of voters, click here.

While the rankings are officially unveiled between Monday, Sept. 25 and Thursday, Sept. 28, a 50-player shortlist was released showing the players under consideration. The shortlist will then get cut by just more than half based on a series of criteria, including technical skill, soccer IQ, physical attributes, personality and overall potential.

Three members of the San Jose Earthquakes are currently on the shortlist – Nick Lima (22), Tommy Thompson (22) and Jackson Yueill (20). San Jose is one of nine teams in MLS with three or more players under consideration, while 13 clubs have two or fewer players on the list.

Earthquakes on the 24 Under 24 rankings since 2011:

2016 – Fatai Alashe (#19)
2015 – Tommy Thompson (#23)
2011 – Simon Dawkins (#21)

50-Player Shortlist*

Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas)
Luciano Acosta (D.C. United)
Tyler Adams (New York Red Bulls)
Miguel Almiron (Atlanta United)
Artur (Columbus Crew SC)
Yamil Asad (Atlanta United)
Latif Blessing (Sporting Kansas City)
Emmanuel Boateng (LA Galaxy)
Alex Bono (Toronto FC)
Andrew Carleton (Atlanta United)
Alphonso Davies (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)
Marky Delgado (Toronto FC)
Raheem Edwards (Toronto FC)
Alberth Elis (Houston Dynamo)
Jack Elliott (Philadelphia Union)
Diego Fagundez (New England Revolution)
Marco Farfan (Portland Timbers)
Kortne Ford (Colorado Rapids)
Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake)
Jesse Gonzalez (FC Dallas)
Julian Gressel (Atlanta United)
Carlos Gruezo (FC Dallas)
Marlon Hairston (Colorado Rapids)
Ian Harkes (D.C. United)
Jack Harrison (New York City FC)
Yangel Herrera (New York City FC)
Cristian Higuita (Orlando City SC)
Derrick Jones (Philadelphia Union)
Cyle Larin (Orlando City SC)
Brooks Lennon (Real Salt Lake)
Nick Lima (San Jose Earthquakes)
Kekuta Manneh (Columbus Crew SC)
Mauro Manotas (Houston Dynamo)
Ronald Matarrita (New York City FC)
Jimmy Medranda (Sporting Kansas City)
Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC)
Erik Palmer-Brown (Sporting Kansas City)
Paxton Pomykal (FC Dallas)
Alvas Powell (Portland Timbers)
Tommy Redding (Orlando City SC)
Carlos Rivas (Orlando City SC)
Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC)
Albert Rusnak (Real Salt Lake)
Jefferson Savarino (Real Salt Lake)
Zack Steffen (Columbus Crew SC)
Ballou Jean-Yves Tabla (Montreal Impact)
Tommy Thompson (San Jose Earthquakes)
Hector Villalba (Atlanta United)
Brandon Vincent (Chicago Fire)
Jackson Yueill (San Jose Earthquakes)

* - Paul Arriola of D.C. United was added to the voting process after the shortlist was decided upon.


Download the FREE MLS App

Follow San Jose's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.