Chris Wondolowski - 2017 - celebration

FEATURE: Several San Jose Earthquakes nominated for MLS awards

With the Audi 2017 MLS Cup Playoffs fast approaching, the league recently announced the nominees for end-of-season awards.


Landon Donovan MLS MVP

Quakes forwards Chris Wondolowski and Marco Ureña and defender Florian Jungwirth were among 53 nominees for the league’s most prestigious awards.


Defender of the Year

Jungwirth and Homegrown rookie Nick Lima were the two nominees from San Jose. In total, 33 players from around the league are included on the ballot.

Newcomer of the Year

The Newcomer of the Year Awards is only for players with previous professional experience that made their MLS debuts in 2017. Jungwirth is the Quakes’ lone representative among 38 league-wide nominees.


Comeback Player of the Year

This award is for a player that overcame hardship, injury and adversity to have success on the field in 2017. Forward Quincy Amarikwa, who sustained a major knee injury towards the tail-end of last season, is the Earthquakes’ nominee after returning to the field and playing a role for the team down the stretch.


Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year

Quakes net-minder Andrew Tarbell is San Jose’s nominee.

Rookie of the Year

A rookie is defined as a player making his debut in 2017 without previous professional experience. The Earthquakes were one of just three teams with multiple nominees in Nick Lima and Jackson Yueill.


MLS Works Humanitarian of the Year

This award honors an MLS player who showed outstanding dedication to charitable efforts and serving the community during the 2017 season. Quakes midfielder Tommy Thompson is San Jose’s nominee after being a leader for the club in giving back to the community and offering his time and effort to assist those in need.



Download the FREE MLS App

Follow San Jose's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.