Danger - HOF Announcement 2018

NEWS: Chris Dangerfield Elected to Earthquakes Hall of Fame

SAN JOSE, Calif. – The San Jose Earthquakes announced today that Chris Dangerfield has been elected to the Earthquakes Hall of Fame. Dangerfield will officially be inducted at halftime of the Earthquakes match on Saturday, May 5 against the Portland Timbers, presented by Audi, and the first 5,000 fans in attendance will receive commemorative pennants.

Tickets for Danger Hall of Fame Night

Match Guide: Quakes vs. Timbers

“When I had an opportunity to come to San Jose in 1981, I immediately knew it’s where I wanted to make my life,” Dangerfield said. “The Earthquakes organization has always treated me so well and truly made me part of their family. I couldn’t be more excited to be in the Hall of Fame. There’s so many people that I would like to and will thank and that includes the players and the fans that have always been so supportive of me.”

Dangerfield played for the Earthquakes in 1982, 1983 and 1985, returning to the club for one final season in 1988. During his time with the Quakes, he competed in the North American Soccer League, NASL Indoor, the Major Indoor Soccer League and the Western Soccer Alliance.

Dangerfield began his youth career with England’s Wolverhampton Wanderers from 1972-76. In 1975, he went on loan to first-year NASL side Portland Timbers, before returning to England with stints at Port Vale and Coventry City.

The native of Coleshill, England then made a more permanent move to NASL, competing for the Las Vegas Quickslivers (1977), Team Hawaii (1977), Tulsa Roughnecks (1978), California Surf (1978) and Los Angeles Aztecs (1979-81) before signing with San Jose.

An influential midfielder, Dangerfield tallied 14 goals and 14 assists from 1982-83, helping the 1983 Quakes to an undefeated season at home and reach the semifinals of the playoffs. He was later named the 1985 Earthquakes MVP and earned Second Team All-League accolades in 1988.

Following his extensive playing career, Dangerfield coached the San Jose Oaks from 1992-96, leading the side to the U.S. Open Cup title in his first season.

He remains close to the Earthquakes organization and served as the team’s TV color analyst from 1996-99, as well as 2014 to present.

Dangerfield will be the 11th person inducted into the Earthquakes Hall of Fame.

About the Earthquakes Hall of Fame

The San Jose Earthquakes Hall of Fame was created in 2005 and currently has 10 members, John Doyle, Ronald Cerritos, Troy Dayak, Milan Mandaric (Builder), Paul Child, Gabbo Gavric, Peter Bridgwater (Builder), Johnny Moore, Ramiro Corrales and Joe Cannon. Members of the Hall of Fame are selected by a Hall of Fame Committee that consists of former players, administrators and members of the media. To be eligible for the Earthquakes Hall of Fame, a person must have contributed significantly to the success of the club on or off the field. People can be inducted in two categories: player or builder. The players inducted must have played a minimum of two years for the team and made a major impact on the field of play. Players inducted must also be people of the highest moral integrity. Their service to the community can also be factored into their election to the Hall. Builders can be coaches, owners or administrators and they must have contributed significantly to the growth of the club on or off the field. They also must be people of the highest moral integrity.


Download the FREE MLS App

Follow San Jose's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.