2020 - Chris Wondolowsi - Warmup
ISI Photos

FEATURE: Quakes well represented on top 25 of all time list

In honor of MLS' 25th season, JIm Reineking of USA Today has ranked the league's top 25 players of all-time. Quakes fans will see some familiar names on the list, as four current and former Quakes players graced the top 10 list.

San Jose Earthquakes forward and team captain Chris Wondolowski came in second on the list. Wondolowski, one of the most lethal scoring options in league history, solidified his ranking by becoming MLS’ all-time leading goal-scorer in 2019.

Dwayne De Rosario, a midfielder for the club from 2001 to 2005, is ranked fifth on the list. The Canadian international’s career is decorated with numerous awards and dramatic goals, including two MLS cups in San Jose and scoring the 2001 MLS Cup golden goal. Jeff Agoos, the captain of San Jose’s 2001 MLS Cup team, made the list at number 9. Agoos is arguably one of the best defenders in league history, also earning three MLS Cups with D.C. United. To no surprise, Landon Donovan tops the list at number 1. Donovan is regarded as one of the greatest players to represent the red, white and blue, all the while scoring the second most goals in league history. In 2015, the 2001 and 2003 MLS Cup winner had the MLS MVP award renamed after him to celebrate his illustrious career.

Curious who else made it? Check out the full list.


Download the FREE MLS App

Follow San Jose's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.