Chris Wondolowski - Celebration - SJvLA

When the San Jose Earthquakes take on the LA Galaxy at StubHub! Center on Aug. 27, it will mark the fifth and final time the two rivals have taken the same field, unless of course the teams face off in the postseason. Let’s take a look at how the four previous matchups have gone in 2017:


Earthquakes 1, Galaxy 0; Feb. 11, 2017; Cashman Field, Las Vegas, NV

The Earthquakes secured a 1-0 win over LA in the California Clasico Las Vegas on a goal by preseason trialist Olmes Garcia. It was the second consecutive preseason in which the two California sides met in Sin City.

FEATURE: Quakes, Galaxy to face off for fifth time in all competitions this season -

MLS Regular Season

Earthquakes 2, Galaxy 4; May 27, 2017; Avaya Stadium, San Jose, CA

The thrilling match saw five total goals scored in the first half alone, including strikes by Chris Wondolowski and Danny Hoesen – his first with the Quakes. An own goal by San Jose just before halftime and a penalty awarded to LA in the second frame proved to be the difference in the match.

MLS Regular Season

Earthquakes 2, Galaxy 1; July 1, 2017; Stanford Stadium, Stanford, CA

With the Galaxy holding a 1-0 advantage after 74 minutes, the Quakes rallied back to secure an incredibly exciting 2-1 win. Goalkeeper David Bingham’s long punt hit Wondolowski perfectly in stride. After a cutback to lose his defender, Wondolowski’s left-footed shot curled into the top corner. Second half substitute Shea Salinas then secured the win with a 94th minute blast into the roof of the net, sending the crowd of 50,000+ into frenzy.

Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Quarterfinals

Earthquakes 3, Galaxy 2; July 10, 2017; Avaya Stadium, San Jose, CA

Another early goal by the Galaxy (fourth minute) was erased by San Jose when Wondolowski equalized 12 minutes later. Wondo, again, and Danny Hoesen then pushed the Quakes up to 3-1 before an unfortunate own goal by keeper Andrew Tarbell added a late second for LA. The win sent the Quakes to the semifinals of the U.S. Open Cup for the first time since 2004.