Press Release

NEWS: Cowell, Tsakiris Called to U.S. U20 National Team for Concacaf U20 Championship


SAN JOSE, Calif. – San Jose Earthquakes Homegrown forward Cade Cowell and Homegrown midfielder Niko Tsakiris have been called to the United States U20 Men’s National Team for the upcoming Concacaf U20 Championship in Honduras, which runs from June 18 to July 3.

Cowell, who has appeared in 13 of San Jose’s 14 matches so far this season, will join the U.S. following the Earthquakes’ match vs. Nashville SC on June 11. Tsakiris is currently with the U.S.

Cowell, 18, has made 63 regular season appearances for the Earthquakes since signing at 15 years old ahead of the 2019 season. He experienced a breakout campaign in 2021, appearing in 33 of the team’s 34 matches, tallying five goals and six assists, earning a spot on the MLS All-Star team, and making his first appearance for the senior U.S. National Team.

Tsakiris, 16, has made two regular season appearances for San Jose so far during his rookie season. He also started the Quakes’ first two U.S. Open Cup matches vs. Bay Cities FC and Seattle Sounders FC, scoring one goal.

The 2022 Concacaf U20 Championship, which is held in Honduras, will see all four semifinalists qualify for the 2023 FIFA U20 World Cup in Indonesia. The two teams that reach the final will also qualify for the 2024 Summer Olympics in France.


GOALKEEPERS (2): Christopher Brady (Chicago Fire FC; Naperville, Ill.), Antonio Carrera (FC Dallas; Frisco, Texas

DEFENDERS (6): Noah Allen (Inter Miami CF; Miramar, Fla.), Brandan Craig (Philadelphia Union; Philadelphia, Pa.), Mauricio Cuevas (Club Brugge/BEL; Los Angeles, Calif.), Marcus Ferkranus (LA Galaxy; Santa Clarita, Calif.), Michael Halliday (Orlando City SC; Apopka, Fla.), Jalen Neal (LA Galaxy; Lakewood, Calif.)

MIDFIELDERS (9): Paxten Aaronson (Philadelphia Union; Medford, N.J.), Alejandro Alvarado Jr. (FC Vizela/POR; Los Angeles, Calif.), Caden Clark (New York Red Bulls; Wayzata, Minn.) Daniel Edelman (New York Red Bulls; Warren, N.J.), Diego Luna (Real Salt Lake; Sunnyvale, Calif.), Jack McGlynn (Philadelphia Union; Middle Village, N.Y.), Rokas Pukstas (Hajduk Split/CRO; Sillwater, Okla.), Niko Tsakiris (San Jose Earthquakes; Saratoga, Calif.), Obed Vargas (Seattle Sounders FC; Anchorage, Alaska)

FORWARDS (3): Cade Cowell (San Jose Earthquakes; Ceres, Calif.), Quinn Sullivan (Philadelphia Union; Philadelphia, Pa.), Tyler Wolff (Atlanta United FC; Braselton,Ga.)