U.S. Open Cup

NEWS: Earthquakes to Compete in 2024 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup 


SAN JOSE, Calif. – The San Jose Earthquakes announced today that they will be competing in the 2024 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup with their Major League Soccer first team. 

During the past few months, MLS and U.S. Soccer have worked together to discuss the evolution of the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup that will set the foundation for the future growth of the tournament to benefit all stakeholders. The conversations focused on increasing the overall investment in the Open Cup, including improved economics for all participants, providing young players with important developmental opportunities, reducing schedule congestion for MLS clubs, and addressing load management concerns to aid player health and safety.

We are grateful to U.S. Soccer for their leadership on these efforts to evolve the Open Cup and increase their investment to benefit the tournament as a whole.

MLS and U.S. Soccer have reached an agreement that will see eight MLS clubs and 11 MLS NEXT Pro teams in the Open Cup for 2024.  

  • MLS Clubs - The eight MLS clubs will include Houston Dynamo FC (last year’s Open Cup champion) and the top seven ranked U.S.-based teams according to the 2023 MLS Supporters’ Shield standings, other than clubs playing in the 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup.
  • MLS NEXT Pro Clubs - The 11 participating MLS NEXT Pro teams will include nine MLS affiliates and two independent clubs. The nine MLS-affiliated teams competing will be based on the 2023 MLS NEXT Pro final standings, other than those clubs whose MLS first teams are participating in either the 2024 U.S. Open Cup or 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup.

MLS teams will only play lower-division opponents until it cannot be avoided, enhancing the tournament's drama and appeal.   

Though San Jose has never won the U.S. Open Cup, the club came closest in 2004 and 2017, reaching the semifinals both times. In 2004, the Quakes defeated the Portland Timbers and Minnesota Thunder of the now-defunct A-League before falling to fellow MLS side Sporting Kansas City (then known as the Kansas City Wizards), 1-0. 

The 2017 version of the tournament saw San Jose beat the San Francisco Deltas, Seattle Sounders FC, and LA Galaxy in succession. Current Quakes captain Jackson Yueill, then in his first season, netted once in the fourth round. However, the club's magical run would end in a 5-4 penalty shootout loss, also at the hands of Sporting Kansas City, following a 1-1 draw.