Expansion Draft

NEWS: Earthquakes Unveil List of Protected Players Ahead of 2022 MLS Expansion Draft


SAN JOSE, Calif. – The San Jose Earthquakes today unveiled the club’s list of protected players for the 2022 Major League Soccer Expansion Draft for newcomers St. Louis CITY SC. The Expansion Draft will take place on Friday, Nov. 11 at 4 p.m. PT.

St. Louis CITY SC may select up to five players from the eligible pool of players, claiming only a single player from any one club. Austin FC, Atlanta United FC, D.C. United, LAFC, and New York City FC are exempt after losing a player to Charlotte FC in 2021.

Generation adidas players who have not graduated and Homegrown Players who are 25 years old and under in the year in which the Expansion Draft takes place are automatically protected. Clubs that have a player selected in the Expansion Draft will receive $50,000 in General Allocation Money (GAM) as compensation.

Automatically Protected Players (9):

GK – JT Marcinkowski

GK – Emi Ochoa

D – Casey Walls

M – Gilbert Fuentes

M – Cruz Medina

M – Niko Tsakiris

F – Ousseni Bouda

F – Cade Cowell

F – Will Richmond

Protected Players (12):

D – Carlos Akapo

D – Tanner Beason

D – Paul Marie

D – Nathan

D – Rodrigues

D – Miguel Trauco

M – Judson

M – Jamiro Monteiro

M – Jackson Yueill

F – Jeremy Ebobisse

F – Cristian Espinoza

F – Benji Kikanović

Available for Selection (9):

GK – Matt Bersano

D – Oskar Ågren

D – Tommy Thompson

M – George Asomani

M – Jan Gregus

M – Siad Haji

M – Eric Remedi

M – Shea Salinas

M – Jack Skahan