Devotion Scarf - Recipients

NEWS: Earthquakes Announce 2017 Devotion Scarf Recipients

SAN JOSE, Calif. – The San Jose Earthquakes announced the 10 recipients of a Devotion Scarf for 2017, an honor bestowed upon the most devoted Earthquakes fans, staff, alumni or members of the Earthquakes family. The recipients of the Devotion Scarves will be honored at halftime during the match against Minnesota United FC at Avaya Stadium on Sunday, Oct. 22, set to kick off at 12:45 p.m. Devotion Scarves were presented for the first time in 2015 and are now awarded annually at the final home game of the regular season. The 10 recipients of a 2017 Devotion Scarf are listed below in alphabetical order.

Q&A With Each Devotion Scarf Recipient

Raul Bueno – Bueno has been part of the club since 1982, previously working for San Jose State and Spartan Stadium, the Quakes’ first home. He is currently the manager of facility operations at Avaya Stadium.  During his tenure with the club, the Quakes have won two MLS Cups and one Supporters’ Shield. One of Bueno’s favorite Quakes memories was watching the first-ever MLS game at Spartan Stadium between D.C. United and San Jose, and seeing Eric Wynalda score the game-winning goal for San Jose.

Debbie Freeman – Freeman has been a Quakes supporter for 15 years and a season ticket holder for 10. She was the first person to install her seats at Avaya Stadium in 2014.

Brian Holmes – Holmes has been with the club since 1974. Born in Park Royal, England, Brian always loved soccer and has dedicated more than 40 years of his life the Quakes. He was first exposed to the team in 1974 by NASL Quakes legend Paul Child, who came into his store in Santa Clara and invited him to a game.

Betty Jean Schweitzer – Introduced to the club by her oldest daughter who worked as a receptionist for the team, Schweitzer fell in love with the Quakes after attending a game during the 2001 season. Schweitzer became a volunteer for the club in 2002 and has been with the club ever since, currently working as the event ambassador at BMW Club Gate 9 at Avaya Stadium. 

John Jussen – Jussen has been a fan of the club since 1974 and is a regular at every Quakes home match. He was a member of Soccer Silicon Valley, an advocacy group that worked with local politicians and potential investors to stop the club’s move to Houston and later helped the club get re-established back in San Jose in 2007. 

Darryl Kojima – Kojima first interacted with the Quakes three years ago as Avaya’s liaison with the club. During that time, he has established himself as one of the most dedicated members of the Quakes team, going above and beyond to ensure that guests have a fantastic game day experience. He goes the extra mile to add a personal touch to everything he does with the club. 

Jeff Ota – Born and raised in San Jose and a fan of the Quakes since 1976, Ota’s favorite club memories are Krazy George at the games he attended as a child and winning MLS Cup in 2001. He is also a member of the Quakes’ Innovation Advisory Board and played a large role in developing the partnership with the Quakes and Second Spectrum.

Easy Perez – A Sunnyvale native, San Jose State alumnus and player himself, Perez was drafted by the NASL Earthquakes and played from 1979 to 1985, becoming one of the first local players to sign with the club. A loyal fan to this day, he considers the Earthquakes his family.

Mike Pizzo – Pizzo has spent a decade working game days with the Quakes, performing a variety of roles and currently serving as the visiting team liaison. His favorite memory with the Quakes is winning the Supporters’ Shield in 2012, and being sprayed by champagne in the postgame celebrations. The game on Sunday, Oct. 22 will mark his last game as a Quakes employee.

John Todd – Todd has served the Quakes team photographer for more than 20 years. The Palo Alto native has captured historic games and documented the club’s history with his camera. His favorite Quakes photograph is of Landon Donovan after the Quakes won the 2003 MLS Cup in LA. He is the owner of International Sports Images (ISI Photos), leading the company since 2003.

Former Vice President of Marketing Amanda Farina Morris was also honored earlier in the season for her four critical years as an executive with the club.

The 10 recipients of a 2016 Devotion Scarf were Dan Burkhead, Olly Bayliss, Ted Firestone, Krazy George Henderson, Dan Ignacio, Bryan Jarvis, Jerry and Bernie Larkin, Mayor Sam Liccardo and Eric Santiago.

2015 marked the first year that the Earthquakes recognized individuals with Devotion Scarves. The 21 recipients of the first Devotion Scarves were Mark and Patty Biagini, Marlee and Glenn Castleman, Shaun Del Grande, Julie Di Maria, Dr.  Michael Furlong, Jose Fuentes, Don Gagliardi, Jeff Kordes, Dan Margarit, Dave McAllister, Carol Haner, Shelley McCune, Jesse Mendes, Dave Obenour, Anthony Perry, Carlos Cesar Rivera, Brenda Scott, Alan Wolfe and Ken Yeager.


Download the FREE MLS App

Follow San Jose's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.