To commemorate our 50th anniversary, each Season Ticket Holder account will receive a limited-edition 50th Anniversary Time Capsule. This time capsule holds special gifts representing five different eras in our club’s history. Continue scrolling to check out all five artifacts within the special capsule.

*Please note, that you have to purchase 2024 Season Tickets by January 31, 2024 in order to receive this gift. 2024 Season Ticket Holders will receive this gift by the end of February.


Our club played 11 seasons in the North American Soccer League (NASL) from 1974 until 1984, a time period that included some of the club’s biggest legends such as Paul Child, George Bestand Steve Zungul. In addition to an outdoor league, the NASL started an indoor competition as well. The Earthquakes won the first ever NASL Indoor tournament in 1975 right here in the Bay Area at the Cow Palace. Paul Child was the top goal scorer and was named co-MVP alongside teammate Gabbo Garvic.


The San Jose Clash (our original MLS team name) hosted the first ever match in Major League Soccer (MLS) history on April 6, 1996 at Spartan Stadium.  The match up between the San Jose Clash and D.C. United broke the attendance record for a San Jose sporting event with a crowd of 31,683 fans. The night ended in spectacular fashion with Eric Wynalda scoring the league’s first ever goal in the 88th minute to give San Jose a 1-0 win.


The Earthquakes won MLS Cups in 2001 and 2003 led by legendary coach Frank Yallop and some of the top players in club history including Landon Donovan, Richard Mulrooney, Ramiro Corrales, Troy Dayak, and Jeff Agoos, among others. Both MLS Cup runs featured memorable victories over our California Clasico rivals — the Los Angeles Galaxy. In 2001, the team beat the Galaxy 2-1 in the final courtesy of a Dwayne De Rosario overtime goal. Then in 2003, the Quakes defeated the Galaxy in the greatest comeback in MLS playoff history, overcoming a four-goal deficit to win the two-leg series 5-4 in overtime.


The league’s greatest goal scorer of all-time, Chris Wondolowski, was drafted by the Earthquakes in 2005. After a short stint in Houston, Wondo returned to San Jose in 2009 and put together some of the top goal scoring seasons in league history. Scoring 171 goals in his MLS career, the Bay Area native was a 6-time All-Star, 3-time MLS Best XI, and 2-time MLS Golden Boot winner.  He won the MLS MVP trophy in 2012 leading the Quakes to their second Supporters Shield with a then record 27 goals.


The Earthquakes Siren was introduced as the newest gameday ritual at PayPal Park in 2023. The siren is placed directly within the supporters’ group in the North end of PayPal Park and is fired as the players enter the field, during Quakes goals, and after Quakes wins. Celebrities that fired the siren in its inaugural season include 49ers legend Patrick Willis and United States Women’s National Team players Kelly O’Hara and Naomi Girma.